Brief history

The Department of Mechanical Engineering, former Department of Engineering and Management of Energy Resources, was established in 1999 and originally belonged to the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. It is located in Kozani, a city closely related to energy and electricity generation, as approximately 70% of the total amount of electricity in Greece is generated in the power plants located in the area.

Foundation and operation regulations are determined by a Presidential Decree (Government Gazette, 179/6.1999 vol. A).

In 1999-2000, the Department welcomed its first 120 students, but in the following years, the number of admissions was reduced to about 100 students per year. In 2019, the number of admissions increased to 120.

In 2004, the Department was transferred to the University of Western Macedonia and became the first degree course of the School of Engineering (Ministerial Decree 134881 a/Β1/23.12.2003, Government Gazette 1975 / 31.12.2003). Later in 2009, it was renamed to Department of Mechanical Engineering (Presidential Decree 47, Government Gazette 61/27-04-2009, vol. I).